The Seven New Wonders Of The World

In 2001, the Swiss-based New7Wonders Foundation conducted an international poll to update the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. After more than 100 million votes and international campaigns, the finalists were announced on July 7th, 2007. From Mexico to India, the new wonders of the world represent the magnificent man-made marvels of the modern day.

The New Wonders Of The World: Chichen Itza, Mexico

Chichen Itza Temple

With a name meaning “At the mouth of the well of Itza”, Chichen Itza is the ruins of a Mayan civilization, dating back to about 600 AD.

It served as a political and economic center and housed magnificent buildings including, temples (including Temple of Warriors and Temple of Chac Mool), the Hall of the Thousand Pillars and the last Mayan temple, the pyramid of Kulkulkan. The site fell into disrepair over the centuries through various invasions, looting and abandonment.

Wonder of Chicken Itza Mexico

New Wonders of the World Chichen Itza

Close Pop-in
Like All That Is Interesting

Get The Most Fascinating Content On The Web In Your Facebook & Twitter Feeds