The Seven Wonders Of The Ancient World

The list of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World was compiled by the Greek writer Antipater of Sidon in a poem in 140 BC. He, along with Philo of Byzantium, Strabo, Herodotus and Diodoros of Sicily, are responsible for providing the descriptions of these sites.

Though only one of the seven wonders of the ancient world remains intact, records insist these gardens, statues and tombs were the crème de le crème of ancient times:

The Seven Wonders Of The Ancient World: Great Pyramid of Giza, Egypt

Photograph of Great Pyramid of Giza

The Great Pyramid of Giza was built as a tomb in 2560 BC by the Egyptian pharaoh Khufu and is the only ancient wonder that still stands today in all its enigmatic and breathtaking glory. The 481 foot monument, which lost 30 feet off its top throughout the centuries, was built over a 20 year period with two million blocks of stone, each weighing more than two tons.

The interior has three chambers – the King’s chamber, the Queen’s chamber, and the lowest chamber – and ascending and descending passages. Apart from its sheer epic nature, the Great Pyramid of Giza is a wonder because of the immense thought and building process that went into it, which confirms the advanced knowledge and engineering skills of the ancient Egyptians.

Wonders Of The Ancient World Great Pyramid

Great Pyramids of Ancient Egypt

All That Is Interesting
Your curiosity knows no bounds. Neither do we.
Close Pop-in
Like All That Is Interesting

Get The Most Fascinating Content On The Web In Your Facebook & Twitter Feeds